“Being Mortal” – A Must Read For Anybody Over 50!

Growing Older With Gusto

History of Care of The Elderly

This is a book that was recommended to me by several people and one I managed to avoid reading because I thought it would be a dry and somewhat painful read.  I have to admit – I was totally. Wrong and my assumptions were way off base.  I learned so much and it really made me think about the challenges that will face us baby boomers as we age and if we still have parents how they will be treated as they age.  I’d like to share some highlights from this book and hope it will encourage you to read this book!

Before pensions and social security was created most of the elderly population were poor with the exception of those who were independently wealthy. Those elderly without families to care for them were relegated to what was called a “poor house”.  This housing…

View original post 236 more words

Leave a Reply

