A GREAT REASON TO STAY FIT AS WE AGE

What Type Of Exercise Is Most Important???

Today, I am writing more from my heart than from any substantial research or articles that highlight the way to grow older by keeping to an exercise routine.  Yesterday I got a call from my husband who told me a close friend of ours(aged 83) had fallen while out shopping with her granddaughter.  I became quite anxious about this news since almost a year ago another friend(aged 78) passed away after a fall and what her Rabbi accurately described as “her surreal ending to life.”  Luckily, this friend who fell yesterday on her knees, escaped without breaking any bones and with a fractured kneecap which is being immobilized with no cast necessary!  This is a woman whom I met when I was 25 years ago(about 20 years ago:-) and who always worked out and kept in good shape despite life’s up’s and down’s.  She currently does private yoga sessions which gave her the core strength to break the fall and be able to leave the ER and go home to her condo!

The Other Friend

My other friend, while well intentioned, tried for all the years I knew her, to lose weight(unsuccessfully) and did work out — she did  gyrotonic’s and walked around a track intermittently.  Her fall last October came with a thud and she ended up breaking her hip.  Her hip was reset, but she was never the same. She entered a rehab center where she languished for six weeks before going home. An infection set in, and her life spiraled out of control.  She did not have the CORE STRENGTH that I think is so incredibly important OR the BALANCE to be resilient to her fall.

The Lesson

I really believe that if you find an exercise program that you like, you will be consistent. This we all read about and it’s been well documented by health authorities. However, as I get older it becomes more and more apparent that maintaining your sense of balance and core strength are SO very important.  I am so happy that my long time friend is now home recuperating.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

