100 Heartbeats A Minute!!!

CBS  This Morning Reports

I was watching with great interest early today a segment on the CBS This Morning Show, which my husband & I watch with some regularity.  The one segment that captured my attention away from scanning the WSJ was one on future trends in health and wellness for 2016.

Foods & Drinks

The first one mentioned that was new…newer than kale(!) is Kelp.  Kelp is basically seaweed which is a favorite food of mine when dining at Japanese restaurants. Apparently, I never visually connect it with days spent in Florida and beach areas where seaweed on the beach is annoying, and doesn’t add much to the aesthetics of the experience of walking on the beach or swimming in the ocean. The kelp/seaweed that is being served as great visual appeal, winning nutritional value, and tastes good, too!!!  So, eat your kelp in 2016!!

The drink they mentioned that REALLY GOT ME GOING, is matcha  tea.  I realize that it contains  health benefits, but I feel that I must share a story with my followers, particularly those women(& maybe men) who are over 60.  A few months ago when we were transitioning into Fall,  I decided I wanted to change my morning coffee habit for something new.   I saw a special promotion online for matcha green tea.  I ordered a bag and proceeded the next day to take the prescribed 1 teaspoon of matcha green tea and mix it with almond milk.  WOW!  It was delicious.  The next morning I made another cup of this new concoction.  AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS.  Now, by Wednesday, I decided I missed my morning cup of Joe, so I added a cup  to the mix.  Friday night arrived and I couldn’t sleep and  was feeling somewhat shaky.  My husband, who is a physician, took my blood pressure(fine) and checked my pulse rate. It was quite high at midnight.  Three hours later, I felt a fluttering in my heart.  Again, my wonderful husband checked my pulse rate and it was still way too high.  I had developed Tachycardia!!!!  The definition of “Tachycardia” is: abnormally rapid heartbeat over 100 beats per minute.  SO, BUYER BEWARE.

Other Interesting Trends For 2016

Adaptogens are mentioned on the Show as helping with stress and fatigue.  Those sound helpful and ones to take a look at after the Holidays!  Weight Watchers is mentioned as a program and company that is changing its outlook by focusing more on overall wellness and not only relying on their long established point system.

Millennial consumers are turning to group meditation as ways of connecting and finding total well being. My mom always told me she learned from all types and ages of people.  What a great idea!!  Meditating in groups, in my  opinion. will help to get people who are growing older with gusto to be more consistent in their meditation practice!

So, Happy Holidays to my followers, family & friends!  Wishing everyone a healthy, fun-filled and peaceful 2016!

Leave a Reply

